RSS Feed

Diary #1

Hello world!

Holland is amazing!
And here I am. Still alive. Enjoying everything. Having fun. Meeting people. CREATING MEMORIES!

When I arrived at Schiphool on wednesday, I met Daniel and Job. Two awesome dutch guys I know from.. erm.. Thats another story ;) Anyway, Im glad they had time to pick me up, because Schiphool was amazingly big! So I didnt need to think about anything, just follow them and watch my luggage! Yay. Thanx alot knapperts! I arrived kinda late, so after grabbing something to eat at BurgerKing, we went to their home in Rotterdam and felled asleep pretty fast.

The next day I joined Daniel at his parents house in Schonhoven. About 45 minutes outside Rotterdam. At the countryside. It’s really beutiful, green fields as far as you can see, cows (nooo way?) and all this little rivers around. Its so different from what I’m used to in Norway, and..yeah.. I just cant describe it. Awesome! Afterwards I went to Rotterdam centrum, trying to find out where things can be found and where to go. I found the shoppingstreet pretty easy. If I bought something? A CELLPHONE! Yeaaa! So now, I finally have one, after 9 months whitout. Some hours later, I met Daniel again and we went for a drink before we headed back to his place and his roomies. In the evening Job, Marchessa and me ordered chinese (which was awesome, why arent that more common in Norway??), and we watched a dutch TV-show about a bunch of silly dutch people partying at some exotic island. Yeah. The realityshows are just as stupid here, as in Norway. And. I found out that dutch arent so hard to understand. Many words are basically the same as in either english, norwegian or german, so if I really try. I understand some words ;)

Being a real tourist at McDonald's.

Looking too long at this houses makes me dizzy.

Yesterday. Job took me for sightseeing Rotterdam. I took some pictures and afterwards I wandered a bit by myself. When it was time for lunch I met Daniel and we found a nice spot next to a river. A bit like «Solsiden» in Trondheim. And guess what. I had 2 beers and a huge baguette with eggsalad and baguette for around 70 NOK. Im so amazed over the prices here… Just gotta love it. Later on we went back to Schonhoven and his family for a delicious dinner, before we went to the centrum in Schonhoven. If I thought the fields were nice, the centrum was even more amazing! The streets are so cozy, with water, trees, swans, old houses and bricks instead of conqrete! Its really idyllic, and the liquiorshop! WOW. It was a tiny store, and the shopkeeper were so nice and friendly! I would never thought that a liquiorshop could be cozy, but this one… for sure! Next on the agenda was to drive his sister and friends to a party in a nearby village. Nieuwpoort was the name, and I’m for sure going back! Well.., yes. Schonhoven was really nice, but Nieuwpoort… A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!!! Its just like taken out of a romantic movie! Unfortenlately it was to dark to take photos, but no doubt about it. I’m going back! When we finally were at R’dam again, we had some drinks, and ordered some turkish food, before we headed out for the city night-life. Riva was the bar, and there we met some of Daniel’s friends. It was really fun, but we had to go back home early to get up today. Well. Early and early. The time was about 03.00 am, but the bars didnt really close ;) It was still alot of people there, partying like hell :D

Typical Dutch street.

Its better in reality though. I'm not the best photographer ;)

Today’s been a intresting day. I had to wake up around 08.30 am, and just one hour later, me and Daniel went to R’dam centralstation to meet Judith and Majo. Two exchangestudents from Germany and Peru. Two portuguese girls came as well, and togheter we all took the train in to Amsterdam, where Daniel had to be our personal guide. I really liked Amsterdam, but its also full of tourists. Like everywhere! And if its not tourists. Its bikes. Bikes, bikes and scooters. I have no idea about how many times Daniel saved me from being runned over by bikes or scooters. They are fricking everywhere! So my hot-tip for you if you are planning a visit to Holland, Amsterdam is a nice city with alot of old buildings and nice rivers with nice bridges, and yes. They do have coffee-shops and Red Light District. And I’m sure its an awesome place for young tourists  that want some adventure. But please! Try one of the other cities as well! I promies you, you wont regret. And seriously. The coffeeshops aren’t only in Amsterdam ;)

Amsterdam <3

Horsetaxi!

So yes. As you might understand, Im having a great time here. I have the best host ever, he really takes good care of me ;) Holland is awesome. And the weather is good ;) Its warm. Its sunny. And its raining. I LOVE it! Yesterday it was thunder and lightning as well, but really. I do love the weather. It can be like a normal norwegian summerday one minute, the other one its raining like hell again, before it suddenly goes back to sunny summerweather. I’m wearing my summerclothes, and I hope this will last, because its like the rest.. awesome!

Goed!

Proost, Patsy!

About patsyblogg

Takk for at du leser bloggen min, du fremmede fugl! Eller kanskje er du ikke saa fremmed likevel. Uansett, legg igjen en kommentar da :)

4 responses »

  1. Nydelig Patricia,,,kos deg å ta vare på deg sjøl,,,hils så mye til Daniel,,,klem ))

    Svar
  2. Hey Patsy,

    nice text! It’s a shame I haven’t seen u more, but you’re welcome anytime @ Luzac!

    xx

    Svar

Legg igjen en kommentar

